Skip to content

Antagonists

October 4, 2010

Ants are very interesting little creatures.  The different species live all kinds of different & fascinating ways of life.

I love all life.  I really do.

But I have come to the realisation & acceptance that I am at war with them.  Not all ants.  Just the very busy, profusely prolific,  little bastards that are farming mealy bugs & scale insects (sap-suckers) in my garden.  They used to farm aphids but these were relatively easy to eradicate.  Naturally, organically, always.  But the ants have learned & adapted & moved on.  Mmm… clever.

Casualties to date:  Lemon tree – very sad 😦 I really wanted a lemon tree again since leaving the farm & this one was a gift as a thankyou for a family-history related involvment.  Rose-scented perlagonium – not as sad because I saved some cuttings & have a number of offspring rooting, thriving & even flowering.  Tansy – 2 big bushes.  Tansy is supposed to be insect-repellant!  The guardians fell!  Two sage plants (serial killer!) 😦 I Love Sage.  The gazania patch is under attack.  Geraniums, lemon balm, chocolate mint (although it spreads quicker than it succumbs so that is good).  My 2 (no make that 1) surviving bringal bush.

Go live somewhere else, ants, pleeeeease.

I’ve considered getting an ant-eater as a pet.  Is that even possible?  Surely it would thrive – we have a gazillion ants!  We don’t have ant-eaters in Africa:  we have Aardvark (Orycteropus afer).  Same thing, but not.  Damn cute.  Eat ants & termites – up to 50 0000 in 1 night!  Overweight underfelt.  Famous for being one of the first entries to appear in many encyclopaedias and some abridged dictionaries (noun \ˈärd-ˌvärk\).  Haha, I remember my English professor had a poster in his office that said:  “In the beginning was the Word, and the word was Aardvark“.  Now if the last word was “Ants” I’d be really happy.  X-ants, spelt with a “Z”, obviously.

This gives me an idea for my next plushie. 🙂

(attribution – individual images:  http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Aardvark; assemblage:  mine)

For now I’m testing Jane Griffith‘s organic Neem Oil Organic Spray recipe:

  1. 1 tsp neem oil
  2. 2 tsp dishwashing liquid
  3. 1 l water

I’ll let you know how it goes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

