Skip to content

Digital Paint Practice: Red & Green

October 27, 2010

It’s been a while since I’ve done any digital painting, so I’ve set myself a challenge.  This morning I took some photos in the garden of various compositions of foliage,  flowers and fruit in a range of shades and tints of red and green – inspired by the green smoothie process on red cloth photos and because it is one of my favourite colour combinations, unsurprising since we’ve had millions of years of genetic history perceiving red fruits in a green forest world, starting with the evolution of our colour vision.  This complementary colour combination is particularly strking in the bright grey weather we’ve been experiencing.

I plan to do studies of these (most, maybe all, will see how it goes) in digital paint, using Corel Painter and a Wacom stylus (pen) and (pressure-senstitive) tablet.  No “cheats” – no blend tools or filters or pattern brushes or eraser or colour picking from the reference photos – only digital pastel and pencil.  Every mark upon mark is made with a pastel or pencil `brush’ by hand, starting on a blank canvas.

This is my first study:  nasturtium 1.

3 hours (Good grief!  Although a `reasonable’ time-frame I hope to improve my time with practice.  It is my intention to `speed paint’ some of these.)

These are thumbnails of the reference photos from which I will be working:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angie permalink
    October 27, 2010 3:09 pm

    Holy Moly that’s freakin good!!

Leave a Reply

