Skip to content

Busyness & Bento

February 12, 2011

I have been so very busy getting my various creative projects organised (more soon!) that I’ve neglected blogging.  I’m so excited about the many pretty things I’m making I wish I had more hands and time!  In addition, I’m officially “on diet” – haha!  What that acutally means is reverting back to my more healthy way of eating  (Toast Monster KO!) and am feeling lighter and more energetic.  Yay!

Now where to start telling you about my enthusiasm for bento and kyaraben?  Healthy food + prettiness = awesomeness!  🙂  This post is the start of sharing many pictures of Japanese lunchtime creativity.  Here’s a taste ~ kyaraben based on the game “Angry Birds” which Jean’s dad plays on his fancy new Galaxy phone bought in Dubai:  so cute.  Photos from and How-to at My Meal Box.

So, what is Bento?

Bento is the Japanese equivalent of a Western packed lunch – instead of bread:  rice.  Onigiri (rice balls) are the basis of a bento and are to Japanese what sandwiches are to us.

Bento (弁当), bentō)  a single-portion takeout or home-packed meal …  A traditional bento consists of rice, fish or meat, and one or more pickled or cooked vegetables, usually in a box-shaped container.

The kind of bento that have garnered the most attention recently, especially outside of Japan are what are called kyaraben or charaben, ‘cute bento’, ‘art bento’ …  extremely elaborately decorated small works of art, as exemplified by the work presented on sites like e-obento (Japanese).

… Finally, there’s the plain simple bento that most people bring to work or school for lunch. It’s important to note that most Japanese people do not spend their time making elaborate charaben or ‘cute bento’ – that’s more in the realm of a hobby and craft rather than practical everyday living. The type of bento that JustBento concentrates on for the most part are practical, tasty, healthy everyday bento lunches.

Of course I love the idea that bento are healthy meals.  And I just love, love, love that they are so very pretty!

From Just Bento (where you can learn how to make onigiri & everything else about bento):   some various onigiri shapes & types.

Many more pretty pictures coming soon.  Damn, now I’m hungry!  😀

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 10:10 am

    This is making me SOOOOO VERRRY HUNGRY for pretty food! Yum!

Leave a Reply

